Posted by: Ron Grimshaw | October 26, 2010

For all intensive purposes. . .

Thanks to WordPresses’ great spell-checker, I have discovered a phrase that I have mis-used now for some 40+ years. On one of my earlier posts, I wrote exactly that: “For all intensive purposes”, as I have come to (mis) understand it. For the first time in using a spell-checker that doubles as a context checker, was I alerted to the error of my ways. WordPress reported the phrase was a ‘Mis-heard Phrase’, and provided the correction: ‘For all intents and purposes.” Kudos to WordPress!

Leave a Reply

Categories

